Hair Scale


Hair fall has become a very common concern for most of the men but its severity differs from man to man. To measure extend of hair fall pattern, Hamilton-Norwood scale is available. It categorizes the level of male pattern baldness. It is a standard scale that measures male pattern baldness, which ranges from first to seventh stages; with the indication; higher the number, more advanced the loss is.


History and significance of Hamilton-Norwood scale
Hamilton-Norwood, this name contains the contribution of two researchers; initially, it was introduced by Dr. James Hamilton in the 1950s and later on in 1970s revised and updated by Dr. O'Tar Norwood. It's one of the easiest ways to conclude how far along a man may be with hair loss and what he can expect if left untreated. It is the most common and widely recognized way available so far.

The Hamilton-Norwood Scale’s stages
The scale itself is way too simple approach. But depends upon the experts is how they interpret the results that matters. The Norwood Scale is universally accepted as the standard for measuring the progress of male pattern baldness.

As you know that this scale defines 7 progressive stages this is because some men first start losing their hair on their temple and others on their crown and this scale defines each stage with two versions accordingly. However, it is not be tricky to determine where your hair is at.

Stage 1- it is just beginning stage when most men do not even realize they have hair loss. There is almost certainly no noticeable thinning anywhere on his head unless he has been closely examining it for years.

Stage 2 - The hair loss is becoming manifest, the hair is still retaining its overall shape, either the crown or the temples are clearly thinner.

Stage 3 - At this stage, the hair line clearly moved away from its original position and leaves only baby-fine hairs behind. Some thinning on the back of head can also be noticed.

Stage 4 – At this point of time, one can notice the thinning hair on top of head and the thinning on the back head are moving toward one another. The hair between the two areas is becoming gradually more exposed.

Stage 5 – The intensity of hair loss is denser, as area between two spots clearly merges into one balding zone. Though, normal hairs sparsely can find in this area.

Stage 6 – AT this stage, only baby-fine hairs on top remains and moves down to an area level with the top of ears. Basically, this is the hair's very last chance at survival.

Stage 7 – This is the last stage when hair on most of head has finally died. One has left with no more baby-fine hairs; all follicles have shrunken and disappeared completely, leaving only slick, shiny, smooth skin.

Interpreting Hamilton-Norwood Scale
With the above given info now you are very clear to give your hair loss an accurate number. Let’s understand what these numbers means. If not you are a number 7, your hair is still alive. It can still be saved.

If you are anyone from stages 1 to 6 will have the best results using a usual, holistic approach by consulting hair treatment experts to solve the actual health problems which led to hair loss. Well, do not worry if you are at stage 7, because for you there is the most effective and successful treatment available for you that is hair transplantation.

Ludwig –A Standard Scale For Female Baldness Pattern
If you are the one who is experiencing hair loss, but have not been to a hair expert yet to confirm it, then you can do it at your own as there are several standard scales available to measure your hair loss. Whereas the Norwood scale helps to measure hair fall severity for male pattern baldness, the Ludwig scale is available to measure female pattern baldness. These scales help to identify hair loss patterns and treatment options. Here we will discuss to indentify the female pattern baldness with the help of Ludwig scale.

When it comes to measuring the degree of hair fall in females, the Ludwig Scale is the only scale that deals with female pattern baldness in terms of hair thinning and decreased density. The scale concentrates on the center part down the middle of the hair, and measures the level of hair thinning out from that part. The Ludwig Scale also identifies any frontal balding.

How Ludwig Measures Female Pattern Baldness?
Ludwig scale concentrates on the center part down to the middle of the hair. It measures fromType1; a very little thinning toType3; an extreme thinning. The interpretations of scales will also help you conclude what treatment alternatives are right for you.

According to Ludwig classification of female pattern baldness, there are three different stages defined as the Ludwig Scale unique stages. Each stage classifies hair loss according to severity, this Scale assists both patients and hair experts to better understand the major concerns regarding the diagnosis and treatment of female hair loss, and these concerns are as given below:

⇒ degree of hair loss
⇒ Potential hair loss in the future.
⇒ course of treatment available

Interpretating Ludwig Scale Stages

As you are already know that Ludwig Scale has 3 different stages that conclude different pattern of female hair fall, these Types include Type 1, Type 2and Type 3. Let’s understand what you can conclude by analyzing your hair fall severity on the basis of Ludwig hair fall.

Stage - Type 1
According to the first stage of Ludwig scale, hair loss is considered to be mild. At this stage, many women may have not noticed that hair loss has occurred because this is initial phase where the frontal hairline remains moderately unaffected. In first stage, hair loss occurs on the top and front of the scalp. Though such hair loss can be noticeable when you part your hair down the center of the scalp, and as more and more scalp becomes visible over time.

Stage -Type2
At the second stage, hair loss is measured moderate. You can easily trace each of the following concerns such as thinning, shedding and general decrease in volume. At this stage of female pattern baldness, center part continues to widen over time. According to the severity, a hair transplant treatment can be a possible choice for women who show signs of a Type II classification.

Stage-Type 3
You can consider it as the final and most extreme classification of female hair loss. At this final stage, hair density becomes so thin that it seems difficulty to mask the scalp, exposing it visible to the naked eye. This condition concerned as worsened by a number of factors, including hair miniaturization, continuous thinning, and wide-ranging loss.